Plume et parchemin

Plume et parchemin

Longing in April

LONGING IN APRIL

 

 

You have gone,

Ah my love,

You have gone.

Yet should I live

Without a single word.

 

Is your voice "silence" ?

Is your shadow "darkness" ?

All fine words

Become dreams

Become grief.

 

Even though you are gone

I hope that you hear my voice

Far away across mountains and fields

And sad melody of my songs of love

Curling around your silence.

 

Only your face

Is a distinct image

In a spring day.

You said you would come

Before the roses bloomed.

When spring came,

I hoped it would come sooner

But, now that it has come,

I fear it is too soon.

 

April 1989.

 



29/07/2018
0 Poster un commentaire
Ces blogs de Littérature & Poésie pourraient vous intéresser

Inscrivez-vous au blog

Soyez prévenu par email des prochaines mises à jour

Rejoignez les 7 autres membres